Born in Weyer, Upper Austria.

Studied from 1962 to 1969 at Mozarteum Salzburg and from 1969 to 1972 under Prof. Franz Samohyl at Music School of Higher Education Vienna.

Joined the Vienna State Opera Orchestra in 1972 and became a member of Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra in 1974 (First Violin). Since 1980 First Violin of the Seifert Quartet and from 1988 to 1992 member of the Ensemble Wien.

1993 awarded the Record Prize and in 1996 the Award of Mozart-Interpretations by the Vienna Mozartgemeinde.

1995 founder and leader of  the Vienna Violin Quartet. Since 1999 concert master of the Ensemble Corso Vienna. 2007 founder and leader of the Ensemble The Viennese.

In 2008 established  the project Philharmonic Sound and Taste in Styria. Since then, conductor of the Austrian Youth Orchestra, working with singers of the Vienna State Opera such as Valentina Naforniƫa, Daniela Fally, Olga Besmertna, Ileana Tonca and Ildikó Raimondi.

In 2008 conductor and solo violinist of the Strauss Festival Orchestra on a tour through Rumania. Since 2008 working regularly as conductor and lecturer with students of the Angelika Prokopp Stiftung of Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra.

2011 initiator of Chamber Music - cycle of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra at the Vienna State Opera together with Dominique Meyer, art director until 2014.

Chamber music cooperation with André Previn, Placido Domingo, Leo Nucci, Ferrucio Furlanetto, Herbert Lippert, Stephanie Houtzeel and Chen Reiss.

Performances in different countries in Europe, at the Salzburg Whitsun Festival, Mozartweek Salzburg, in Chile, China, Japan and New York.

Various CD-recordings with the Seifert Quartet, the Vienna Violin Quartet and The Viennese.